First Mailing complete

Every semester of grad school, we have to write 3 mailings. We choose our own research material with help from our faculty advisor and artist mentors. This third semester, I read Carl Jung’s Memories, Dreams, and Reflections.  I also looked at the artwork of Remedios Varo, a surrealist painter, Marnie Weber, and Francesca Woodsman.

I also watched Persona, a film by Ingmar Bergman, and I read about half of The Power of Feminist Art. I will finish that one during this mailing, along with Kaja Silverman’s The Subject of Semiotics. Silverman’s book is abstractly philosophical, not what I expected, but I am enjoying it. It is helpful, profound, and a nice compliment to Jung and Lacan.  

I am still thinking about the research for my third and last mailing. The faculty tell us to follow the investigation. I guess Foucalt is next. It is bittersweet to know I am nearing the end to the research. Next semester the process paper!

Thank you for following my art journey. If you have time, check my instagram here.

my best,

Emily

Published by Art Belongs to Everyone

The work is inspired by an engagement with play and making peace with uncertainty. I work experimentally, using a digital video to explore painting. I use sound and moving images in non-traditional ways to reverse expectations of horror and comedy. I am drawn to the whimsical nature of self-discovery. I construct repeating narratives, often depicting varying scenarios of serenity, silliness, and reflection.

Leave a comment