Lesson learned in yellow

Two Daffodils, 12×12, oil on wood (work in progress)

Mellow yellow. I learned some new things this weekend painting in yellow. I have always struggled with the ‘fat over lean’ thing. In foundation year painting classes I don’t remember ANYONE discussing it, but, I only really remember painting in foundation year painting. Painting a lot and all the time. Maybe I missed the discussion. Anyway, I have heard that one must add oil to paint when painting over existing layers of paint or the paint will crack. In 20 years of painting, I haven’t seen one of my own paintings crack. So I never really worried about it. But I do think about it when I see the terms fat over lean it in marketing materials, etc.

Raphael and Miriam, 12×12, oil on wood (work in progress)

As I was working on this yellow painting of the coffee can I finally used the fat over lean to my advantage. I was painting the lid to the can but I didn’t get the color quite right. Normally, I would try and lift the color off and try again, but this time I mixed the new color added stand oil and painted right over the first layer of paint! Break through.

I am looking forward to adding details to the three yellow paintings I worked on this weekend. They will be dry enough soon and I can add that oil!

My best,
Emily Warren


emilywarrenart.com
www.instagram.com/emmywahwah/
www.saatchiart.com/emilywarren

Published by Art Belongs to Everyone

The work is inspired by an engagement with play and making peace with uncertainty. I work experimentally, using a digital video to explore painting. I use sound and moving images in non-traditional ways to reverse expectations of horror and comedy. I am drawn to the whimsical nature of self-discovery. I construct repeating narratives, often depicting varying scenarios of serenity, silliness, and reflection.

Leave a comment