Oiling out and varnishing

I am still struggling to paint orange. In my procrastination, I found myself cleaning paintings. Then I decided to oil-out some paintings that looked wonky. It felt great to clean up the work. I don’t have a show for a couple weeks. Hopefully, these will be dry by then. I also varnished some pieces.

I am using a matte varnish. I love the glossiness of traditional Damar varnish but it is difficult to get good pictures. The glossy finish causes problems getting the studio lighting to accurately reflect the light. I will continue to finish them with matte varnish. Mostly yo protect the paintings from dust and dirt. If any of you have a better solution please, please share.

Meanwhile, continuing on with the saffron theme I painted this English muffin with marmalade and knife.

Marmalade,  12×12, oil on panel (work in progress)

Thank you for reading.

My best,
Emily Warren


emilywarrenart.com
www.instagram.com/emmywahwah/
www.saatchiart.com/emilywarren

Published by Art Belongs to Everyone

The work is inspired by an engagement with play and making peace with uncertainty. I work experimentally, using a digital video to explore painting. I use sound and moving images in non-traditional ways to reverse expectations of horror and comedy. I am drawn to the whimsical nature of self-discovery. I construct repeating narratives, often depicting varying scenarios of serenity, silliness, and reflection.

Leave a comment